Hohhot – images of Inner Mongolia

Posted on December 9, 2012


China may be a single entity, but it has a great variety of people and peoples within its vast borders.  Alongside the 22 provinces (23 if you count Taiwan), there is a spattering of Special Economic Zones (2), 4 Municipalities and 5 Autonomous Regions.

It’s often these latter that court controversy as the people of Tibet, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, Guangxi and Ningxia have such strong identities.  Of the 56 ethnic groups recognised by the Government, it’s in these areas that their difference from that of the Han Chinese can perhaps be best seen.

With influences from Tibet, Ghengis Khan and the nomadic Mongol horsemen, I took these pictures on a trip to Hohhot, the capital city of Inner Mongolia in an attempt to capture some of the local colour & flavour.

small 5 pagodassmall elephantsmall colourful drapes

small mural HH detailsmall scary drumsmall HH prayer flagsmall HH spotted clothsmall pipers muralsmall mongolian taxiSmall monk flamesmall HH gourdssmall HH flagssmall feetsmall HH clothsmall 5 pagodas detailsmall melons HHsmall HH statue

small white mosquesmall white stupas

small street HH

small mongolian shop

small wolf man

small wolf burning